My kind of Therapy


Have you ever really listened to a song and even though it had no words in it the song still spoke back to you. Well these are the words it spoke! Baleen Morning, Enjoy! 

Crawl across the squeaky floor boards to your father arms stretched out and ready to embrace you. They pull you in tightly and ever so gently rock you to sleep. This moment this enduring love will last a life time captured in a picture this story hangs high for all to see.

My child I will hold you in my arms tonight.
Dont let go don’t give up the fight.
You have to keep pushing on, this is your time to shine.
Your not a failure even if they say so.
You will always be the child of mine.
I’ll hold you up even when you lose hope
I’ll show you the way back home.

First year and school bell rings, rushing past you to their class rooms the other children scream. On the playground child’s laughter fills the airwaves as the children play cowboys and indians. 12 years goes by and you taught how me how to drive. Highschool brought it challenges but you were there to hold me tight; when I lost hope and needed someone to tell me I was made for something more. You made me realize what it meant to be alive.

Up all night another late shift rushing home and driving quickly the road is wet and a little bit slippery. Up ahead the flashing lights grab my attention and the cars pulled over on the side. People peeking looking trying to see who is inside. I slow down and its Your car turned over in the ditch. Hoping wishing my eyes deceive me my heart is pounding I come to a squealing halt. Blades of Grass and this broken glass dig into my knees as I pull you to my side.

My father I will hold you in my arms tonight.
Dont let go don’t give up the fight.
You have to keep pushing on
this is your time to shine.
your were not a failure even if they say so.
You will always be the father of mine.
I’ll hold you up even when you lose hope
don’t give up the fight
but you just look up into my eyes and said

“Son don’t cry, I’ll lead you home tonight”

This was something that I have written and have been working on the past couple nights with intentions at some point to add music of my own. That is ounce I can learn another instrument besides the keyboard. Until then I hope you can find a part of yourself in it and please be sure to comment if it touched you in some way and let me know what you think. I appreciate all feedback. 

This entry was published on May 6, 2012 at 3:54 pm. It’s filed under Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Comment:

